We use cookies and similar technologies to help give you the best experience on our site, of our services & to serve you relevant advertising. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume that you're happy to receive all cookies. More info about our cookies policy

Login to Gfinity

Choose

Manage Wallet Manage Subscriptions
HaloWC London 2018

HaloWC London 2018

The Competition

Gfinity is looking for the best Halo players in Europe - as the Halo World Championship returns to the Gfinity Esports Arena from 23rd–25th February 2018! The final four teams will not only take the lion’s share of the $25,000 prize pool, but will also qualify for the Halo World Championship 2018 Finals to compete for $1,000,000!

For newcomers looking to make a name for themselves, we’ll be hosting a new Free-For-All tournament with a $5,000 prize pool. If you’re a lone wolf looking to make a statement in the Halo scene, this is your chance.

Additionally, the top 4 highest seeded teams from the online qualification cups in the weeks prior to the LAN event will get paid travel and accommodation to the event courtesy of 343 Industries. Also, UK players will be able to don the Union flag while competing on an international stage for the first time, as part of the Halo World Championship 2018 country flag skins coming to Halo 5: Guardians.

Broadcasting live from the Gfinity Esports Arena, the competition will feature some of the best talent in Europe. Will we see the current kings of EU Halo, Infused, walk away with the title again? Or will a newcomer take the crown?

With the top 4 teams qualifying for the Halo World Championship Finals, don’t wait to secure your team passes when they go on sale next week!!

TOURNAMENT FORMAT

The HaloWC 2018 European qualifier will feature open 4v4 and FFA tournaments for any players residing in Europe. The 4v4 tournament will qualify the Top 4 teams and the Free-For-All winner for the HaloWC 2018 finals in Seattle, Washington, via a minimum 32-team, double elimination bracket.

FFA and 4v4 competition schedule and format can be found at https://gfinityesports.com/uk/news/halowc-london-survival-guide-1603

PLAYER REGISTRATION

With all the incredible Halo action on display, there’s no way you’ll want to miss HaloWC London. The stakes are as high as the competition level, with the Top 4 teams qualifying for the Halo World Championship 2018, and a share of the $25,000 prize pool. For the lone wolves, we’ve got a $5,000 FFA competition.

Both Team and FFA passes are now available. Don’t hesitate to secure your spot, hit the link below to grab a competitor’s pass.

PRIZE POOL

4v4:
$25K Total

Winners: $10,000
2nd place: $6,000
3rd place: $4,000
4th place: $2,500
5th & 6th: $1,250

FFA:
$5k Total

Winner: $2,000
2nd place: $1,250
3rd place: $750
4th place: $500
5th place: $300
6th place: $200

TRAVEL

Venue: Gfinity Arena, Fulham Broadway Retail Centre, Fulham Rd, London SW6 1BW
Airport: London Heathrow (LHR), London Gatwick (LGW), London City (LCY)
Ground transportation: UberTaxi, London Underground (Tube), Train
Hotels: Nearby partnered hotels include Millennium & Copthorne Hotel at Chelsea Football Club and Holiday Inn Express Earls Court. Stay tuned to this page for discounted rates.

FAQ

  • How do I qualify for the HaloWC 2018 finals in Seattle, Washington? The Top 4 4v4 teams and the Free-For-All winner will qualify and will receive an all-expense paid trip for the HaloWC 2018 finals.
  • How do I get a better seed for my team in the tournament? Compete online and earn points for your team. If your team is in the Top 4 in points before the event your entire team will earn free travel and hotel accommodations
  • What is the 4v4 format? Open double elimination bracket format
  • I can’t attend the event, but want to watch online. Where can I tune in?
  • Do I need a full team to purchase a team pass?
    • No, you can purchase a team pass now to secure a spot in the tournament, and inform your team later.
  • I’m coaching a team – do I need to purchase anything?
    • A team pass includes tournament entry for 4 players and 1 coach. No additional purchases are necessary to coach.
  • Will there be a Free-For-All (FFA) competition at this event?
    • Yes! HaloWC London will feature a $5,000 FFA tournament for any and all competitors. Best of luck to those competing! Be on the lookout for specific format details in the coming weeks.
  • If I buy a team pass, do I have to play in the FFA?
    • Purchasing a team pass does not mean you have to play in the FFA. With $5,000 on the line though, why wouldn’t you? o.O
  • I don’t live in Europe or the Middle East, can I compete in this tournament?  
    • Unfortunately, no. This tournament is region locked to players that reside in Europe or the Middle East only.
  • What’s the age limit for this tournament?
    • The age limit to compete in this tournament is 16+.
  • Is there a limit to the amount of teams eligible to compete in this tournament?
    • Yes. This tournament is limited to the first 32 teams to purchase a team pass.
  • What monitors will be used for this tournament?
    • The monitors that will be used at this tournament are the BenQ XL2411T.
  • What equipment should I bring if I’m competing?
    • You will need to bring your controller and a micro-USB cable for a wired connection from the controller to the Xbox One.
    • Batteries must be removed from the controller so they are unable to power the controller.
    • Headsets will only be provided for mainstage competition.
  • I have other questions – where’s the best place to ask them?
    • For any other questions, feel free to Tweet @gfinity or @HCS.

 

 Broadcast Start Times:

Friday: 15:30 GMT, 16:30 CET, 09:30 CST, 10:30 EST, 08:30 MST, 07:30 PST, 02:30 AEDT

Saturday: 12:00 GMT, 13:00 CET, 06:00 CST, 07:00 EST, 05:00 MST, 04:00 PST, 23:00 AEDT

Sunday: 12:00 GMT, 13:00 CET, 06:00 CST, 07:00 EST, 05:00 MST, 04:00 PST, 23:00 AEDT


Stream: 

Mixer.com/Halo
Twitch.tv/Halo
Live.twitter.com/Halo
Youtube.com/HaloWaypoint
Facebook.com/Halo (Sunday only)

Friday 23rd February

  • FFA Check in: 9:00am – 10:00am

  • Player Briefing (Screen 7): 10:00am [Not Compulsory]

  • FFA Competition: 11:00am – 3:00pm

  • 4v4 Check in: 9:00am – 3:00pm

  • 4v4 Competition: 4:00pm – 10:00pm

Saturday 24th February

  • Arena Opens: 11:00am

  • 4v4 Competition: 12:00pm – 9:00pm

  • Free Play Open: 3:00pm

Sunday 25th February

  • Arena Opens: 11:00am

  • FFA Final: 12:15pm

  • 4v4 Competition: 1:00pm – 10:00pm

Gfinity Arena

Venue

Gfinity Arena

ADDRESS:

Gfinity Arena,
Fulham Broadway Retail Centre,
Fulham Rd,
London SW6 1BW

In the surrounding area to the Gfinity Arena, there are many hotels and bed & breakfasts catering for a wide range of budgets.

We recommend the following hotels nearby to the Gfinity Arena:

Affordable: Travelodge Hotel - London Fulham (approx 10 mins)
290-302 North End Rd
London
Fulham 
London SW6 1NQ
www.travelodge.co.uk

★★★ Hotel ibis - Earls Court (approx 10 mins)
47 Lillie Road
Earl's Court
London SW6 1UD
http://www.ibis.com/gb/hotel-5623

★★★ Holiday Inn Express London - Earl's Court (approx 10 mins)
295 North End Road
London
W14 9NS
http://www.exhiearlscourt.co.uk/

★★★★ Millennium & Copthorne Hotel at Chelsea FC (approx 5 mins)
Stamford Bridge
Fulham Road
London, SW6 1HS
Promo Code – Gfinity16
http://www.millenniumhotels.co.uk

Looking for other hotels in the surrounding area? Use this link: www.booking.com

Restaurants

There are a variety of restaurants within Fulham Broadway Retail Centre (steps away from the Gfinity Arena):

The Oyster Rooms - Wetherspoons www.jdwetherspoon.com
* 20% off food bill 
 
Wagamamma’s www.wagamama.com
* 20% off total bill 
For parties of 6 or more – 1 x free side dish plus 20% off total bill
 
Pizza Express www.pizzaexpress.com
* 20% off food bill 
 
Yo Sushi www.yosushi.com
* 15% off food bill 
 
Tossed www.tosseduk.com 
* 20% off total bill

Nando www.nandos.co.uk 


Note: 
* You will need to show your Gfinity wristband to get the discounts.
These offers may not be applicable on Chelsea Match days

There are also several restaurants just outside the retail centre, all within a couple of minutes’ walk.

Byron Burgers www.byronhamburgers.com
* 20% off food bill 

McGettigan’s – Irish Pub
* 20% off food and drink 
Not valid on Chelsea home match days.

Gourmet Burger Kitchen www.gbk.co.uk 
Bodean’s BBQ www.bodeansbbq.com 

Bars

There is one pub located within the retail centre:

Oyster Rooms Wetherspoon – Open until midnight every day. www.jdwetherspoon.com

Outside of the retail centre you have a choice of the following:

Brogans Traditional Irish Pub – open until 1am on Friday & Saturday www.brogansfulham.co.uk 
The Elk – Funky bar/club, DJ and cocktails – open until 1am on Friday & Saturday www.elkbar.com
Kona Kai – Cocktail bar – open Fri until 1.30am & Saturday until 2.30am www.konakai.co.uk

Shopping

If you fancy a spot of shopping, one of London’s largest shopping centres is only 18minutes by tube.

Westfield London - www.westfield.com/london: take the District Line to Nottinghill Gate & then the Central Line to Shepherds Bush

Sightseeing

If you’d like to see the sights of London then check out the Visit London website for a list of museums, sights and attractions. www.visitlondon.com/things-to-do/sightseeing

If you intend to make a day of it you could even purchase the London Pass for great savings.

If you require some inspiration Time Out has a list of 101 of things to do in London.

By London Underground or National Rail:

The nearest tube station is Fulham Broadway on the District Line. If changing at Earls Court Station take a Wimbledon-bound tube. There are two Overground stations near to Stamford Bridge, West Brompton and Imperial Wharf, which are approximately a 15-minute walk from the arena These are both on a direct line between Clapham Junction and Willesden Junction.

Frequent Routes

Heathrow Terminals 1-3 
Take the Underground PICCADILLY LINE to Earls Court
Change train at Earls Court take the DISTRICT LINE to Fulham Broadway

Gatwick Airport

Take the Gatwick Express to London Victoria
Take the Underground DISTRICT LINE from Victoria to Fulham Broadway

Stansted Airport

Take the Stansted Express to London Liverpool Street
Take the Underground CENTRAL LINE from Liverpool Street to Notting Hill Gate
Change trains and take the DISTRICT LINE to Fulham Broadway

London City Airport

DLR Line to Canning Town DLR Station
Change train, take the Underground JUBILEE LINE to Westminster
Change train and take the DISTRICT LINE to Fulham Broadway

London Luton Airport

A shuttle bus service operates to and from Luton Airport Parkway Station 
Take the East Midlands Train to London St Pancras 
Change trains and walk to Kings Cross St Pancras Underground Station

London St Pancras

Take the Underground PICCADILLY LINE to Earls Court Change train at Earls Court take the DISTRICT LINE to Fulham Broadway

London Euston

Underground – Northern Line Euston to Embankment
District Line Embankment to Fulham Broadway

Paddington

Underground – District Line Paddington to Fulham Broadway

By Bus:

There are two bus stops outside the Gfinity Arena on the Fulham Road, use number 14, 211 and 414 buses.

By Car:

We advise against travelling to the Gfinity Arena by car due to local parking restrictions and heavy congestion at weekends.

Driving from The North, East or West:

Use the M25 to Junction 15 and turn off onto the M4 towards London. Follow the M4 which becomes the A4 up to Hammersmith. Go over the Hammersmith Flyover and a further 1.5 miles before turning off for Earls Court. Go past Earls Court station and across Old Brompton Road, eventually reaching Fulham Road. Turn right at the traffic lights.

Driving from The South:

Cross the river at Wandsworth Bridge and head up Wandsworth Bridge Road. At the junction with New King's Road, turn right and then immediately left. This will take you up to Fulham Broadway. Turn right onto Fulham Road and the retail complex will be on your left.

Useful Information

Flights
For assistance with booking flights contact our travel agent 
Lee Ramsey at Flight Centre 
Tel: 0044 207 499 0206 Email: lee.ramsey@flightcentre.co.uk

Trains 
Train times, journey planner, book tickets
Trainline - www.thetrainline.com

Underground (Tube)
Tube times, journey planner
Transport for London - www.tfl.gov.uk

Taxi’s 
If you have the Uber App this is by far the cheapest taxi service. Alternatively, 
Fulham Taxis - www.fulhamtaxis.co.uk 
Tel: 0044 207 127 5003
 
Hotels
If there is no availability with the hotels listed, try these websites:
Booking - www.booking.com
Last Minute - www.lastminute.com